Organizational Development Committee

The Organizational Development Committee:

  • Recommends to the State Chair: local, state and national political strategies, activities, and policies designed to improve the organizational effectiveness of the Party;
  • Proposes a plan for redistricting of the Party’s Regions after each State Reapportionment is adopted;
  • Proposes guidelines to the Rules Committee, for their consideration and approval, concerning the Chartering of Organizations under Article X of the bylaws of the California Democratic State Central Committee (CDP); and,
  • Recommends to the Executive Board the granting or rejection, of applications for Charter of organizations under Article X of the above mentioned bylaws pursuant to guidelines adopted by the Rules Committee.

Approved Regional Map

The Organizational Development Committee has developed and adopted the following guidelines and application form for groups seeking California Democratic Party charters: 


Click here to fill out an online application

Completed charter applications should be sent to:

California Democratic Party
Attn: O&D Staff
1830 9th St. 
Sacramento, CA 95811 

2016 Committee Report

2014 Committee Report - Not submitted 

Committee Roster 2017-2019

Lead Chair

Royce Kelley
Chris Wagaman


Joy Atkinson
Miki Nakamura
Michael Thaller
Arthur Valenzuela Jr.


Jan Brown
Francine Busby
Joe Cislowski
Joshua Donner
Mary Ellen Early
Mark Gonzalez
Leah Herzberg
Adia Hoag
Estella Kessler
Diane Kinyon
Glenn Loveall
Mary McCune
Eric Medina
Ruth Musser-Lopez
Thomas Patrick O'Shaughnessy
Celestine Palmer
Courtni Pugh
Scott Rafferty
Sarah Richardson

Committee Staff
Kasey Carlson
(916) 442-5707

Geographically Based Chartered Organizations

10th AD Democrats 263 Cecilia Way
Tiburon, CA 94920 

Chair: Evelyn Woo

18th AD Democrats 280 Park View Terrace #304
Oakland, CA 94610 

Chair: Roy Benford

Democratic Headquarters of the
West San Gabriel Valley (AD49) 
P.O. Box 367 
Monterey Park, CA 91754 
Chair: Jeff Schwartz
66th Assembly District
Democratic Council  
904 Silver Spur Rd. #343
Rolling Hills Estates, CA 90274 

Co-Chair:Varo Asorian

Co-Chair: Lisa Power
Co-Chair: Carol Moller

70th Assembly District
Democratic Coalition
Task Force 
970 W. La Alameda Ave
San Pedro, CA 90731 
Chair: Michael W. Chernus
72nd Area Democratic Alliance  P.O. Box 3628
Huntington Beach, CA 92605 

Chair: Charlotte Pirch


Click here for Statewide Chartered Organizations


Please note that these descriptions are not meant to be an interpretation of the California Democratic Party Bylaws. The CDP Bylaws are available on our website here.

We need you to be a part of the California Democratic Party's blue wave by Donating Every Month between now and the 2018 Election! LEARN MORE

Click here to update your information

Stay Informed