Legislation Committee

Register Here for Friday April 30, 2021, @ 4:30 – 6:40pm 2021 State Convention Legislation Committee Meeting.

Go here for the full 2021 CADEM Convention Digital Schedule

The deadline to submit a timely Legislation Request for consideration at the 2021 April Virtual Convention is 5PM on March 31, 2021.

The Committee Process: We are broken into two sub-committees, State and Federal Legislation, both of which have conference calls prior to the eBoard meeting during which they review the submissions and put forward a consent calendar. At eBoard, that consent calendar is presented to the full committee. We take general testimony at the beginning of the committee meeting, followed by a (public) committee discussion (Having an advocate remain to answer questions during committee discussion can be helpful). Staff provides every committee member with copies of all legislation on the consent calendar, as well as any additional materials that submitters have supplied for that purpose. Anyone planning to testify should arrive a few minutes before the start of the meeting to sign in. Thank you.

Committee Duties: The Legislation Committee proposes legislation, when needed, in response to the duties and policies of the Party; maintains a listing of all pending legislation that is of “must” and/or major concern to the Party; and keeps a record of the vote by the Democratic Party legislators on those legislative items. The Legislation Committee makes recommendations and proposes actions on said legislation that is consistent with guidelines adopted by the California Democratic State Central Committee (California Democratic Party) Rules Committee.

Legislation Committee Guidelines

Submit any legislation request HERE.

April 2021 Legislation Position

April 2021 Policy and Procedures

July 2020 Legislation Position

August 2019 Legislation Position

California Democratic Party 2021 State Convention

Federal Bills

State Bills

2021 Legislation Committee Agenda 

Committee Roster 2019-2021

Lead Chair

Tristan Brown, Sacramento
Lynette Henley, Vallejo


Crystal Araujo, Hayward
Margaret Granado, Whittier
Elizabeth Linnerman, Stockton
Jerilyn Stapleton, North Hollywood
Joy Sterling, Sebastopol
Paula Villescaz, Carmichael
Amy Wiwuga, Tarzana


Anthony Aguirre, San Bernardino
Solomon Alpert, Berkeley
Bobbie Jean Anderson, Moreno Valley
AnaMarie Avila Farias, Martinez
Kelvin Barrios, San Diego
Cecile Bendavid, Woodland Hills
Sascha Bittner, San Francisco
John Erickson, West Hollywood
Demetrio Gonzalez, Richmond
Brandon Harami, San Francisco
Amy Hines-Shaikh, Clayton
Deana Igelsrud, Los Angeles
Robbie Krietz, Dublin
Paul Kujawsky, Valley Village
Harpal Mann, Union City
Evan Minton, Orangevale
Chevelle Newell-Tate, Lemon Grove
Edson Perez, Sacramento
Jeremy Smith, Sacramento
Tara Sreekrishnan, Cupertino
Amar Thomas, San Francisco
Ann Turtle, Sacramento

CYD Ambassadors

Ryan Brown, Sacramento
Kara Zachreus, Stanislaus

Committee Staff

Unique Wilson
(916) 442-5707

Shery Yang
(916) 442-5707

Please note that these descriptions are not meant to be an interpretation of the California Democratic Party Bylaws. The CDP Bylaws are available on our website here.