Affirmative Action Committee

The Democratic Party maintains a strong commitment to diversity and expanding participation. To ensure that commitment, the Affirmative Action Committee advises all persons with power of appointment and all electing bodies, of the demographics of California Democrats so that the Party’s makeup is representative in gender, ethnicity, creed, age, sexual orientation, economic status, physical ability, and area of residence.

2016-17 Committee Report

2015 Committee Report


Committee Roster 2015-2017

Lead Chairs
Basim Elkarra, Sacramento
Estevan A. Rivera, Jr., San Diego

Taisha Brown, San Diego
Miguel Canales, Artesia
Karen Weinstein, Berkeley

Carlos Alcala, West Sacramento
Hillary Blackerby, Santa Barbara
Steve Blott, Los Angeles
Rico Coleman, Cayucos
Dinah Frieden, Irvine
Ameenah Fuller, Rancho Cucamonga
Ari Grayson, Laguna Beach
Karen Hinks, Huntington Beach
Talat Khan, Rancho Cucamonga
Christina Marquez, San Bernardino
Darryl Marshall, Palmdale
Denise Penn, San Clemente
Mary Jane Sanchez, Desert Hot Springs
Adam Spickler, Santa Cruz
Michael Stone, Laguna Niguel
Trung Ta, Huntington Beach
Steven Veres, Sherman Oaks
Andrea Villa, San Diego
Debra Vinson, Antioch
Margaret Winningham, Pomona  


Committee Staff
Kasey Carlson
(916) 442-5707

* Please note that these descriptions are not meant to be an interpretation of the California Democratic Party By-Laws. The CDP By-Laws are available on our website here.

We need you to be a part of the California Democratic Party's blue wave by Donating Every Month between now and the 2018 Election! LEARN MORE

Click here to update your information

Stay Informed