Resolution To Support The Campaign To Ratify The Era (Equal Rights Amendment)


Resolution 13-04.42


WHEREAS, the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) which states that "Equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any state on account of sex," was a proposed amendment to the United States Constitution designed to guarantee equal rights for women, originally introduced in Congress for the first time in 1923 by Alice Paul; finally passed both houses of Congress in

1972 and went to the state legislatures for ratification but failed to secure the requisite number of ratifications before the final deadline mandated by Congress of June 30, 1982.

WHEREAS, the ERA has been introduced into every session of Congress for the past 30 years and has seen legislative activity in eight of the 15 unratified states yet the Amendment still has not been incorporated into our Constitution; Congresswoman Carole Maloney (D-NY) introduced H.J.RES 69, Equal Rights Amendment [112th Congress] on June 22, 2011 and on Tuesday, March 5, 2013, Senator Robert Menendez (D-NJ) reintroduced the traditional ERA ratification bill as S.J. Res. 10 with 10 co-sponsors, in the U.S. Senate, including our Senator Barbara Boxer;

WHEREAS, women have made incredible progress in the past thirty-five years, but unfortunately judicial attitudes can shift and Congress can repeal existing laws with a simple majority vote and there are continuing struggles to roll back women's rights in education, health, employment, and even domestic violence. As the great suffragist and author of the ERA Alice Paul said "We shall not be safe until the principle of equal rights is written into the framework of our government."

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the California Democratic Party re-affirms its support for statewide efforts to help ratify the Equal Rights Amendment;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that that the California Democratic Party shall transmit copies of this resolution to President Obama and to all Democratic members of California's Congressional and Senate delegation to encourage them to be co-sponsors of either the House or Senate bill.



Authored by: Ces Rosales (AD 15), Northern California co-chair of the CDP Women's Caucus; Karen Weinstein (AD 15), former Chair of the CDP Women's Caucus.
Supported by Assembly member Joan Buchanan, Assembly member Robert Wieckowski, Christine Pelosi, CDP Women's Caucus Chair, Hilary Crosby, CDP Controller (AD 15), Mal Burnstein, CDP Rules Committee co-chair, Becca Doten, (DNC), Sharon L. Hillbrant (AD 44), Andy Kelley (AD 15), Malia Vella (AD 18), Igor Tregub (AD 15), Margarita Lacabe (AD 18), Jeffrey Nibert (AD 16), Dan Rush (AD 15), Kristina Dixon (AD 61), Nicky Gonzalez Yuen (AD 15), Wanda Harris (AD 4) Sharon A. Ball (AD 15), Pamela Drake, (AD 18), Jessie Arreguin (AD 15), Shirley Howland (AD 4), Wendy Bloom (AD 15), Angela Ramirez Holmes (AD 16), Becky Curry (AD 4), Alex Zucco (AD 41), Jennifer Ong (AD 20), Carolyn Fowler (AD 62), Monica Wilson (AD 11), Roma Guy (AD 17)


Adopted by the California Democratic Party
At its July 2013 Executive Board Meeting
Hilton Hotel, Costa Mesa
July 21, 2013





We need you to be a part of the California Democratic Party's blue wave by Donating Every Month between now and the 2020 Election! LEARN MORE

Stay Informed