Moratorium On Hydraulic Fracturing


Resolution 13-04.60A


WHEREAS, hydraulic fracturing, commonly referred to as "fracking," is a technique that drills wells vertically and often horizontally deep under the earth's surface and injects a mixture of water, sand and toxic chemicals into the wells at high pressure to crack shale and dense rock formations to extract gas or oil; and

fracking uses large amounts of water thereby reducing its availability for agriculture and other public use, uses large amounts of toxic chemicals some of which can cause cancer, creates wastewater that brings these chemicals and other deep earth contaminants (sometimes  radioactive) to the surface and can pollute the drinking water supply either directly or through leaky wells, releases methane gas into the air that exacerbates climate change, and may cause earthquakes; and

WHEREAS, fracking is currently not regulated in California and is exempt from federal regulation under an exception in the Safe Drinking Water Act whereby the chemicals used are treated as secret corporate property and are not tested or made public, and the locations of the wells are not tested or made public; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the California Democratic Party supports: 1) an immediate moratorium on fracking, with such a moratorium to remain in effect until legislation and regulations  are put in place that repeal the exception in the Safe Drinking Water Act, guarantee public health and safety, mitigate the effects on climate change, protect the environment and allow government access and testing of the chemicals used; 2) full disclosure and testing of all sites; and 3) substitution of conservation and renewable sources of energy where practical; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the California Democratic Party send a copy of this resolution to President Obama, Governor Brown, Senator Feinstein, Senator Boxer, the California Democratic Congressional Delegation and the Democratic Members of the California State Legislature and call on them to take all executive, administrative, regulatory and legislative actions to implement this resolution.



Submitted By: Progressive Democrats of Santa Monica Mountains; Los Angeles County Democratic Party; Michael Goldman, Susie Shannon; RL Miller; Region 6 Delegation; California Democratic Party; San Mateo County Democratic Central Committee; San Mateo County Democracy for America; Gregory Loew, AD24; Ashleigh Evans, AD22; Carole Dorshkind, AD24; L.A. County Democratic Party; Valley Grassroots for Democracy; Russell Greene AD 45; Tom Camarella AD 54; Patricia Levinson AD 54; Veronica Rocha AD 50; Cary Brown AD 50; Jerilyn Stapleton Ad 46; Carol Lutness AD 38; Clifford Tasner AD 46; Iyad Afalqa AD74; Dorothy Reik AD 50; Brent Page AD 62; Brad Parker AD 46; Mike Thaller AD 79; Susie Shannon AD 50; Markhum Starnsbury AD 54; Genise Schnitman AD 50; Greg Valtierra AD 54; Melissa Grant AD 50; Janet Turner AD50; Llyod Dent AD 46; Raymond Bishop AD 45; Jon Katz AD 50; Teresa Priem AD 45; Casey Robinson AD 50; Wendy Block AD 46; Carolyn Fowler AD 62; Daraka Larimore-Hall AD 37; Leah Herzberg AD 45




Adopted by the California Democratic Party
At its April 2013 State Convention
Sacramento Convention Center
April 14, 2013







We need you to be a part of the California Democratic Party's blue wave by Donating Every Month between now and the 2020 Election! LEARN MORE

Stay Informed