Candidates for California Democratic Party Chair Set for Election During 2019 Organizing Convention

San Francisco, Calif. -The California Democratic Party (CDP) today announced the final list of candidates for Chair of the California Democratic Party. The seven (7) candidates will make their case to the delegates during the 2019 CDP Organizing Convention on Saturday, June 1st, 2019 at the Moscone Center in San Francisco. The election for Chair will take place from 4-7 pm on that same date. The results will be announced during the final General Session on Sunday between 10am and Noon*. 

 “We have a solid group of candidates for Chair,” said Alexandra “Alex” Gallardo Rooker, acting Chair of the California Democratic Party. “I expect the delegates to be fired up as they hear each candidates’ platform and their plans to right the wrongs of the Trump Administration by leading this great Party to victories in 2020.”

The seven (7) candidates for CDP Chair are: 

*(If no candidate receives more than 50% of the overall vote, a run-off election will take place on Sunday morning, June 2, 2019 from 8-10 am.)

The CDP Organizing Convention will take place at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, Calif. from May 31st to June 2nd, 2019. There are 8.6 million registered Democrats in California. The theme of this year’s Convention is “Blue Wave Rolling.” This Convention will be instrumental in determining changes to the Party’s platform and will elect a new Chair to lead the CDP into 2020. (The Organizing Convention is the first of two State Conventions the CDP will hold this year. The second is the CDP Endorsing Convention which will take place in November 2019 in Long Beach, CA.) More information on the convention can be found by following here:


NOTE TO MEDIA: Media who have yet to register for media credentials are encouraged to apply ASAP by clicking here or visiting the MEDIA section of
Attachments area
We need you to be a part of the California Democratic Party's blue wave by Donating Every Month between now and the 2020 Election! LEARN MORE

Stay Informed