California Democrats to Gather in Los Angeles, March 7-9, for 2014 State Convention

Sacramento - The California Democratic Party will hold its annual convention this week, March 7-9 in Los Angeles at the Convention Center and Westin Bonaventure hotel. The event will be the largest gathering of Democrats in California this election year as delegates finalize statewide, congressional and legislative endorsements as well as adopt the 2014 Party platform.

Delegates and observers will hear from Governor Jerry Brown, House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi, Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti, as well as statewide Democratic officials and Legislative leaders.
"Let there be no doubt: California has turned the corner and that's thanks to Jerry Brown," said John Burton, Chairman of the California Democratic Party. "With the Governor leading the way, and a strong Democratic majority in the Legislature, Democrats balanced the state's budget and ended the cuts to education. California is once more investing in its future instead of cutting our way to the bottom."
The convention kicks off Friday night, March 7th at 6:00pm with the Chairman's Reception and wraps up Sunday afternoon.
Maryland Governor Martin O'Malley and Houston Mayor Annise Parker will also address the delegation while Minnesota Congressman Keith Ellison and San Antonio Mayor Julián Castro will headline the Convention Luncheon and Dinner sessions respectively.
Governor Brown will address the delegation on Saturday, March 8th.
For a full schedule of the event go to:
Below is a list of the elected officials and guests scheduled to speak at the convention:
Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti
CDP Chairman John Burton
House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi
Attorney General Kamala D. Harris
Houston Mayor Annise Parker
Governor Jerry Brown
CDP Controller Hilary Crosby
Secretary of State Debra Bowen
Treasurer Bill Lockyer
Controller John Chiang
Maryland Governor Martin O'Malley
CTA President Dean Vogel
Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson
Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones
Next Generation Co-Founder Tom Steyer
Lt. Governor Gavin Newsom
BOE Chairman Jerome Horton
CDP Vice Chair Alex Rooker
BOE member Betty Yee
CDP Vice Chair Eric C. Bauman
California Assembly Speaker John A. Pérez
California Assembly Majority Leader Toni Atkins
CDP Secretary Daraka Larimore-Hall
Senate President pro Tem Darrell Steinberg
Senate Appropriations Chair Kevin De León




We need you to be a part of the California Democratic Party's blue wave by Donating Every Month between now and the 2020 Election! LEARN MORE

Stay Informed