California Democrats Kick Off 2013 State Convention, Hold Largest Gathering of Democrats Since Historic 2012 Election Victories

Sacramento - The California Democratic Party kicked off its annual convention this weekend, April 12-14 at the Sacramento Convention Center and Sheraton hotel. The event is expected to be the largest gathering of Democrats in California since the Party's historic election victories in 2012 which included:

  • The re-election of President Barack Obama and Senator Dianne Feinstein
  • Winning a 2/3 majority in both houses of the State Legislature
  • Picking up six "swing" Congressional Districts
  • Passing Proposition 30 & defeating Proposition 32

"California Democrats put it all on the line and came up aces in 2012," said California Democratic Party Chairman John Burton. "Victories of this magnitude are rare in politics so there's a lot to be thankful for. But we're not done yet and in fact, Democrats are just getting started."

The convention kicks off Friday night, April 12 at 6:00pm with the opening Chair's Reception and wraps up Sunday afternoon. In addition to conducting Party business, Democrats will also be electing Party officers from the Chair down to the Regional Director level.


* * * General Session Speakers * * *

Below is a list of the elected officials and guests scheduled to speak at the convention:


California Controller John Chiang
House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi
California Attorney General Kamala Harris
California Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones
California Senate President pro Tem Darrell Steinberg
Luncheon Speakers: House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi and 2012 "Red to Blue" Congressional members
California Treasurer Bill Lockyer
Next Generation Co-Founder Tom Steyer
California Lt. Governor Gavin Newsom
California Speaker of the Assembly John A. Pérez
Candidates for CDP Secretary
CDP Controller Hilary Crosby
CDP Vice-Chair Alexandra Gallardo Rooker
CDP Vice-Chair Eric Bauman
Dinner Speaker: Comedian and Political Satirist Will Durst




DNC Vice-Chair Maria Elena Durazo
Executive Secretary-Treasurer of California Labor Federation Art Pulaski
President of California Teachers Association Dean Vogel
CDP Secretary Reginald Jones Sawyer, Sr.
BOE member Betty Yee
BOE member Jerome Horton
California Secretary of State Debra Bowen
California Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson







We need you to be a part of the California Democratic Party's blue wave by Donating Every Month between now and the 2020 Election! LEARN MORE

Stay Informed