2014 Endorsement Information


2014 CDP Endorsements - November General

The Secretary of State has certified the results of the Primary Election and as such the California Democratic Party has issued endorsements for the following offices and ballot initiatives. 

Statewide Endorsed Candidates


Edmund G. "Jerry" Brown 

John Chiang

Lieutenant Governor
Gavin Newsom

  Secretary of State
Alex Padilla

Attorney General
Kamala D. Harris

  Insurance Commissioner 
Dave Jones 
Betty Yee
  Supt. of Public Instruction 
Tom Torlakson 


Ballot Initiatives


Yes on Proposition 1 
WATER QUALITY, SUPPLY, AND INFRASTRUCTURE IMPROVEMENT ACT OF 2014 (CALIFORNIA WATER BOND) -- Provides a reliable supply of water to farms, businesses and communities, especially during droughts. It supports economic growth and protects the environment. It is fiscally responsible, is guided by a comprehensive state water plan and does NOT raise taxes.


Yes on Proposition 2
RAINY DAY FUND. LEGISLATIVE CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT -- Requires annual transfer of state general fund revenues to budget stabilization account. Requires half the revenues be used to repay state debts. Limits use of remaining funds to emergencies or budget deficits. Fiscal Impact: Long-term state savings from faster payment of existing debts. Different levels of state budget reserves, depending on economy and decisions by elected officials. Smaller local reserves for some school districts  


Yes on Proposition 45 
APPROVAL OF HEALTHCARE INSURANCE CHANGES. INITIATIVE -- Requires health insurance rate changes to be approved by Insurance Commissioner before taking effect. Requires sworn statement by health insurer as to accuracy of information submitted to Insurance Commissioner to justify rate changes. 


Neutral on Proposition 46 
DRUG AND ALCOHOL TESTING OF DOCTORS. MEDICAL NEGLIGENCE. INITIATIVE --Requires drug and alcohol testing of doctors and reporting of positive test to the California Medical Board. Requires Board to suspend doctor pending investigation of positive test and take disciplinary action if doctor was impaired while on duty. Requires doctors to report any other doctor suspected of drug or alcohol impairment or medical negligence. Requires health care practitioners to consult state prescription drug history database before prescribing certain controlled substances. Increases $250,000 cap on pain and suffering damages in medical negligence lawsuits to account for inflation. 


Yes on Proposition 47 
CRIMINAL SENTENCES. MISDEMEANOR PENALTIES. INITIATIVE STATUTE. -- Requires misdemeanor sentence instead of felony for petty theft, receiving stolen property, and forging/writing bad checks when value or amount involved is $950 or less. Requires misdemeanor sentence instead of felony for certain drug possession offenses. Allows felony sentence for these offenses if person has previous conviction for crimes such as rape, murder or child molestation or is a registered sex offender. Requires resentencing for persons serving felony sentences for these offenses unless court finds unreasonable public safety risk. 


Yes on Proposition 48 
 --  This is a challenge to a state law previously approved by the Legislature and the Governor. The law ratifies two gaming compacts (with the North Fork Rancheria of Mono Indians, and the Wiyot Tribe); and it exempts execution of the compacts, certain projects, and intergovernmental agreements from the California Environmental Quality Act. A Support position (Yes vote) supports the law, an Oppose position (No vote) backs the Referendum.



Board of Equalization


District 1: Chris R. Parker   District 3: Jerome E. Horton 
District 2: Fiona Ma   District 4: Nader Shahatit


State Assembly


AD01: No endorsement request   AD41: Chris Holden* 
AD02: James D. Wood   AD42: Karalee B. Hargrove 
AD03: Jim Reed   AD43: Mike Gatto*
AD04: Bill Dodd   AD44: Jacqui Irwin
AD05: No recommendation   AD45: Matthew Dababneh*
AD06: Brian Caples   AD46: Adrin Nazarian* 
AD07: Kevin McCarty   AD47: Cheryl Brown* 
AD08: Ken Cooley*   AD48: Roger Hernandez* 
AD09: Jim Cooper   AD49: Edwin Chau* 
AD10: Marc Levine*   AD50: Richard Bloom* 
AD11: Jim Frazier*   AD51: Jimmy Gomez* 
AD12: Harinder Grewal    AD52: Freddie Rodriguez* 
AD13: Susan Eggman*   AD53: Miguel Santiago 
AD14: Susan Bonilla*   AD54: Sebastian Ridley-Thomas*
AD15: Elizabeth Echols   AD55: Gregg Fritchle 
AD16: Tim Sbranti   AD56: Eduardo Garcia 
AD17: No recommendation   AD57: Ian Calderon* 
AD18: Rob Bonta*   AD58: Cristina Garcia*
AD19: Phil Ting*   AD59: Reginald Byron Jones- Sawyer Jr.*
AD20: Bill Quirk*   AD60: Ken Park
AD21: Adam Gray*   AD61: Jose J. Medina* 
AD22: Kevin Mullin*   AD62: Autumn Burke  
AD23: No recommendation    AD63: Anthony Rendon* 
AD24: Richard S. Gordon*   AD64: Mike Gipson 
AD25: Kansen Chu    AD65: Sharon Quirk-Silva* 
AD26: No recommendation   AD66: Al Muratsuchi* 
AD27: Nora Campos*   AD67: Conrad Melton 
AD28: Evan Low   AD68: Anne Cameron 
AD29: Mark Stone*   AD69: Tom Daly* 
AD30: Luis Alejo*    AD70: Patrick O'Donnell 
AD31: Henry T. Perea*   AD71: No endorsement request 
AD32: Rudy Salas Jr.*    AD72: Joel Block 
AD33: John Coffey   AD73: Wendy Gabriella 
AD34: Virginia 'Mari' Goodman   AD74: No recommendation  
AD35: Heidi Harmon   AD75: Nicholas Shestople 
AD36: Steve Fox*   AD76: No recommendation 
AD37: Das Williams*   AD77: No recommendation 
AD38: Jorge Fuentes   AD78: Toni G. Atkins* 
AD39: Raul Bocanegra*    AD79: Shirley N. Weber*  
AD40: Kathleen Henry    AD80: Lorena S. Gonzalez* 


State Senate


SD02: Mike McGuire   SD22: Ed Hernandez*
SD04: CJ Jawahar   SD24: Kevin de Leon* 
SD06: Roger Dickinson    SD26: No recommendation
SD08: Paulina Miranda   SD28: No recommendation
SD10: Bob Wieckowski    SD30: Holly J. Mitchell*
SD12: Shawn Bagley      SD32: Tony Mendoza 
SD14: Luis Chavez    SD35: Isadore Hall*** 
SD16: Ruth Musser-Lopez   SD34: Jose Solorio
SD18: Robert Hertzberg   SD36: No endorsement request
SD20: Connie Leyva   SD38: Fotios Tsimboukakis 

  SD40: Ben Hueso* 

***SD35 is a Special Primary Election taking place on December 9, 2014



CD01: Heidi Hall   CD27: Judy Chu*
CD02: Jared Huffman*   CD28: Adam Schiff*
CD03: John Garamendi*   CD29: Tony Cardenas*
CD04: No recommendation   CD30: Brad Sherman*
CD05: Mike Thompson*   CD31: Pete Aguilar
CD06: Doris Matsui*   CD32: Grace F. Napolitano*
CD07: Ami Bera*   CD33: Ted Lieu
CD08: Bob Conaway   CD34: Xavier Becerra*
CD09: Jerry McNerney*   CD35: Norma Torres 
CD10: Michael Eggman   CD36: Raul Ruiz*
CD11: Mark DeSaulnier   CD37: Karen R. Bass*
CD12: Nancy Pelosi*   CD38: Linda T. Sanchez*
CD13: Barbara Lee*   CD39: Pete Anderson
CD14: Jackie Speier*   CD40: Lucille Roybal-Allard*
CD15: Eric Swalwell*   CD41: Mark Takano*
CD16: Jim Costa*   CD42: Tim Sheridan
CD17: Mike Honda*   CD43: Maxine Waters*
CD18: Anna Eshoo*   CD44: Janice Hahn*
CD19: Zoe Lofgren*   CD45: Drew E. Leavens
CD20: Sam Farr*   CD46: Loretta Sanchez*
CD21: Amanda Renteria   CD47: Alan Lowenthal*
CD22: Suzanna Aguilera-Marrero    CD48: Suzanne Savary 
CD23: Raul Garcia     CD49: David Peiser 
CD24: Lois Capps*    CD50: James Kimber 
CD25: No recommendation    CD51: Juan C. Vargas* 
CD26: Julia Brownley*    CD52: Scott Peters* 

  CD53: Susan Davis* 


For Candidates

Click here for the Post-Primary Endorsement memo

* Indicates a candidate is an incumbent.

Last updated 7/11/14